Water Crisis in Wuxi - Reisverslag uit Wuxi, China van Ling Fan - WaarBenJij.nu Water Crisis in Wuxi - Reisverslag uit Wuxi, China van Ling Fan - WaarBenJij.nu

Water Crisis in Wuxi

Door: Ling Fan

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Ling

12 Juni 2007 | China, Wuxi

Hey guys,

Here’s another message from me. I’m keeping the pace quite up by writing a story about once every month. At the moment I’m sitting on the backseat of a black Volkwagen Santana driving to Yiwu (义乌) where I have to see a supplier of 3D-cards and do a quality check at their factory. It’s about 5 hours by car from Wuxi to Yiwu.
Wuxi made the headlines quite negatively lately, because the water was extremely polluted. I even heard messages from outside China about this matter. Especially people who were living in downtown Wuxi had bad luck and guess where I live... :-( The water had a yellow color and a peculiar odor. When I first smelled this, I had already brushed my teeth and had taken a shower. My clothes which were washed also had this smell. Here’s one of the many links that are available:
http://www.chinadaily.cn/china/2007-05/31/content_884102.htm. The picture in this article was made at the supermarket near my place; there was really a run on fresh and clean mineral water. Selling purified mineral water was booming business for a short while, especially on the first day everything was sold out very quickly. The prices rose to even ten times its usual price. At the moment the water doesn’t smell this badly anymore, but I heard that’s it’s now full of chemicals that you can’t call it clean either. Water, you never think about how much you use it and how important it is to you till the moment it’s scarce. Not being able to take a shower was even the hardest. I even had to take a weekend Shanghai for it.
It feels that my working period in Wuxi comes to an end very soon. My last working day will be on the 6th of July. Shunlai is already finished with his working period here. He went to Chongqing past weekend and after that he’ll go to Singapore to attend a wedding. With another colleague from work I’m going to organize a bowling competition for the other staff members, also next month. Yesterday I sent two boxes with clothes and books back home, in total about 31kg. It really feels like I’m going to leave this place very soon.

  • 12 Juni 2007 - 13:28

    Hsiao Ming:

    Geel water? Dat klinkt echt een beetje als...plas ofzoiets xD Wanneer kom je eigenlijk naar huis toe?

    - xXx -
    Hsiao Ming jou 很可爱的妹妹

  • 12 Juni 2007 - 13:28

    Hsiao Ming:

    whaaa srry maar daaronder bij mijn naam moest staan Hen Ke Ai De Mei Mei srry ^^'

  • 12 Juni 2007 - 16:24

    Kleine Ling:

    Hey grote Ling! k zit in de middle of de laatste proefwerkweek, en 't gaat niet helemaal vlekkeloos ben k bang... moet 'n paar vakken gaan herkansen als k strax de punten weet. Majah... nie aan slechte dingetjes denken, alleen aan goede, zoals de vakantie die eraan komt! k had het op het journaal gezien dat in Wuxi verontreinigd water was :o zelfs m'n vriend Max heeft dat gezien, d.w.z. dat 't volop in het actuele nieuws zat! Laten we hopen dat jij nix van dat vies water binnen hebt gekregen! Hmm... verstandig om weg te gaan van smerigheid, ook echt zielig voor de mensen in downtown Wuxi... pfff. Enne... je hebt al koffers vol kleding thuis, moet r nog meer bij komen soms? :p

    Groets, L!l Ling

    PS. HsiaoHsiao, 't is JOUW en nie jou!

  • 12 Juni 2007 - 20:12

    Ai&Har:

    Heel veel groeten uit Tegelen!
    We wensen je nog een mooie tijd in China, speciaal straks wanneer je familie komt!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Ling

I got an internship at a dutch company called Fun Industries (www.funindustries.nl). They have their factory in Wuxi (a city not far from Shanghai). For at least a half year I will work there. I'm looking forward to the new things I'm going to see and experience.

Actief sinds 19 Aug. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 256
Totaal aantal bezoekers 19953

Voorgaande reizen:

09 Oktober 2006 - 10 Oktober 2006

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: