Almost April... - Reisverslag uit Wuxi, China van Ling Fan - WaarBenJij.nu Almost April... - Reisverslag uit Wuxi, China van Ling Fan - WaarBenJij.nu

Almost April...

Door: Ling Fan

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Ling

31 Maart 2007 | China, Wuxi

It has been already another month since my last message on this weblog. The main reason why it took so long was because I had some hard time in the company during that period. After having been the GM Assistant for 5 months, I felt more and more dissatisfied with the tasks I had to do in the company. At the same time I wanted to lengthen my contract which would end in April originally. Since my next academic year would only start in September, I had no plan for the time before September.

I took my stay here in Wuxi till August for granted and got quite demotivated. Where was my motivation again when I just arrived in Wuxi? Things had changed since this company switched the GM. In the beginning I tried to find my place in the changing circumstances. I even doubted if I made a good choice for choosing Wuxi instead of graduating for my Masters this year. Eventually I realized that even the bad moments I experience here are a part of my learning process. Metaphorically speaking Life is like a Road. On this road you can only move forward, further and further from the beginning. Sometimes you look back to see how the passed looked like, but that image gets blurred the further you move away. There are different roads in life, at every intersection you have to choose a certain direction which leads you to another kind of road. Not every road is easy to walk on, sometimes there are obstacles, sometimes it’s muddy, sometimes it’s slippery. At other times, you’ll find a beautiful flower besides the road and decide to pick it up and carry it along with you on your walk on the road. The things and adventures you experience on this road seem endlessly, but you know that at a certain unknown point the road will end for you.

I lived quite a while in uncertainty. When I finally dared to asked the GM to lengthen my contract for a couple of months more, he turned it down the first time. I tried to accept it professionally, but it was hard because I hadn’t got the feeling that I was given a chance to prove my capabilities. After this I made some preparations for my trip back to Holland... Sometimes things just turn out as you wouldn’t expect it. Our company’s Quality-Control Manager got fired all of a sudden, and the empty spot that he would leave behind had to be filled in. I got the Incoming Quality Control (IQC) Department under my supervision, I was given a chance to prove my usefulness for the company. Since last week the confirmation came from the GM that I could lengthen my stay for as long as I want to. He even asked me four times till when I want to stay. I didn’t get the hint the first few times. The more he asked, the further I moved my return date: at the moment it’s hanging on the end of June.

I moved from the GM Office downstairs to the IQC Office where I have my own desk, printer, etc. I’ve got two female colleagues who work with me on this department, their English names are: Lotus and Sweet. I learn so many new things at the moment, there’s a complete new terminology I have to learn and the work I’m doing now is very close related to what we actually are producing. My tasks currently are making daily reports to the temporary substitute QC Manager, standardizing IQC procedures, making supplierchecklists and checking product samples myself. I quite like my new environment where I can work independently on incoming projects. Besides these tasks a few of my original tasks still remain, like: solving minor computer problems, translating work and doing the household finance.

All the other things here in Wuxi remain the same. Shunlai and I still live in our luxurious apartment. We’re still speaking lots of Chinese. Our housekeeper still washes our clothes and prepares us breakfast and dinner almost every day. The company car is still bringing us to the factory every morning. My mother still calls me a couple of times a week. During the weekends we still have to think what we have to do. Well... I mean what I have to do, since Shunlai’s still supposed to work on his BA-thesis. Last week, Shunlai and I went to the Taihu Lake, but the weather wasn’t really good. This week however the weather turned out to be summer-like with temperatures like 28 to 30 degrees.

I’m staying for so long here I almost forget that I also have a life somewhere else. Dudok, how’s work going? TCC, how is it in Leiden, are there big changes coming in the upcoming academic year? TCJ, who are going to Japan this year? Papa, mama, Ling Hua, Ling Fong, Hsiao Ming, how’s everything going at home? Nana, great news that you’re coming to China again! How are your preparations going? Waiman, Hungwah, Jiajia, Ying (Zhang), any news? Menita are you prepared for my next visit to Beijing?

  • 31 Maart 2007 - 15:04

    Hsiao Ming Fan:

    Wat een grappige foto's! Lach me rot! Alleen heb ik spierpijn in mijn buik dus doet lachen pijn...wanneer kom je weer naar huis toe?

  • 01 April 2007 - 07:58

    Ling:

    Hey Ling!

    Heel veel succes met je werk en je verdere leven daar in Wuxi. Jiayo! Ook groeten aan Shun-Lai.

    Groetjes,
    Ling (die andere ;))

  • 01 April 2007 - 11:54

    Nana:

    Hi Ling!!

    Naxie Hua bushi Sakura...

  • 03 April 2007 - 16:04

    Kingfo:

    He Ling,

    Zo te horen gaat het goed met je en heb je het nog steeds naar je zin. Toen ik je bericht las dacht ik nog even dat je eerder terug naar Nederland zou komen, maar helaas is dat niet zo.
    Met mij gaat alles goed. Ik ben sinds maandag 2 april eindelijk naar Londen vertrokken om daar voor onbepaalde tijd te blijven.

    Veel succes nog voor de komende tijd en ik spreek je snel weer.

    Veel liefs,
    kingfo

  • 04 April 2007 - 15:32

    Anneke :

    Beste Ling en Shunlai,

    een hartelijke groet uit Leiden! En ja, er zijn veranderingen op til voor het komende jaar, met name in de BA. Eind april interne voorlichting hierover.

  • 09 April 2007 - 09:20

    Ling:

    Wuhahaha je hept gelijk gekke zusje van me! De monkeyfoto's zal k nie snel vergete :p Ling Ming, je bent bijnah jarig... over 11 dagen om precies te zijn, je wordt dan 26 jaar =O

    Zo te horen is het werken nog reuze gezellig en leuk in Wuxi... k wil daar ook es naartoe. k wil op 'n dag een hele toer door het Volksrepubliek maken (H) *geld ff bijsparen*

    Over de Wii, k ga die pas in de zomer halen als r meer kleuren zijn. Prefereer jij wit, zwart, rood of groen?

    Groeten, nog een andere Ling 8o

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Ling

I got an internship at a dutch company called Fun Industries (www.funindustries.nl). They have their factory in Wuxi (a city not far from Shanghai). For at least a half year I will work there. I'm looking forward to the new things I'm going to see and experience.

Actief sinds 19 Aug. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 279
Totaal aantal bezoekers 19948

Voorgaande reizen:

09 Oktober 2006 - 10 Oktober 2006

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: